A fine WordPress.com site

Van Allen Plexico

SENTINELS: THE GRAND DESIGN– OMNIBUS PAPERBACK

Image

The First Trilogy of Van Allen Plexico’s Superhero Novel Series—At Last in a One-Volume Edition!

(August 8, 2012)  White Rocket Books proudly announces the release in trade paperback format of Van Allen Plexico’s SENTINELS: THE GRAND DESIGN, a one-volume collection of the first three novels in the famed cosmic superhero saga!

Weighing in at a whopping 624 pages and with a stunning painted cover by celebrated artist Mitch Foust, the “Grand Design” Omnibus also features no fewer than fifteen full-page interior illustrations by series artist Chris Kohler.

The book contains all three volumes of the first Sentinels trilogy (When Strikes the Warlord, A Distant Star, and Apocalypse Rising) in their entirety, introducing the heroes and villains (and those in between) that make up this fascinating and compelling superhero universe.

What begins as an attempted abduction of a young student from her college campus quickly spirals out to engulf a diverse collection of individuals, including billionaire inventor and hero-wannabe Esro Brachis, beloved national savior (and amnesiac) Ultraa, wisecracking daredevil Damon “Cavalier” Sinclair, and mysterious alien powerhouse Vanadium.  Can this motley crew come together as a team in time to save the Earth from conquest or destruction?

Through the eyes of central character Lyn Li, a Chinese-American teen that possesses amazing electromagnetic powers, we encounter aliens and androids, geniuses and demigods, megalomaniacal arch-villains, space-borne monsters, and everything else one would expect from a classic Bronze-Age comic series—in New Pulp novel form!

“For most of my life I’ve loved the concept of a superhero team made up of very distinct individuals who barely get along with one another,” says author Van Allen Plexico.  “The fun comes in watching them encounter mind-blowing menaces and have to find a way—some way!—to work together long enough to miraculously save the day.  Throw in the ability that a novel series provides, to allow characters to really change and grow (and even die!) along the way, and you get what I strongly believe is a saga every superhero comics fan will love.  And with Chris Kohler illustrating the whole thing, you can’t go wrong!”

Plexico’s Sentinels series has been praised by Kirkus Reviews for offering “a fresh take on the superhero theme,” and by Pulp Fiction Reviews as “spectacular, action-packed, imaginative and wonderful.”  Noted superhero novelist Ian Thomas Healy called them “Kirbyesque,” describing Volume One as “the first book that successfully translates the feel of a comic book into prose.”

White Rocket Books is a leader in the New Pulp movement, publishing exciting action and adventure novels and anthologies since 2005, in both traditional and electronic formats.   White Rocket books have hit the Amazon.com Top 15-by-Genre and have garnered praise from everyone from Marvel Comics Vice-President Tom Brevoort to Kirkus Reviews.

On sale as of August 8, 2012, SENTINELS: THE GRAND DESIGN (Omnibus) is a $21.95, 6×9 format trade paperback from White Rocket Books.  (The individual novels are already available as $2.99 e-books for Kindle and other e-readers.)

624 pages

ISBN-13: 978-0-98413-925-5 (6×9” Trade Paperback; 15 full-page illustrations)

On Amazon.com:  http://www.amazon.com/Sentinels-The-Grand-Design-Omnibus/dp/0984139257

Advertisements

Watson & Plexico Talk BLACKTHORN on the Book Cave Podcast

I. A. Watson and Van Allen Plexico joined Ric Croxton for a special episode of the Book Cave, discussing all things BLACKTHORN– characters, stories, backgrounds and influences–and the new BLACKTHORN novel coming soon from Watson and White Rocket Books, among many other interesting topics.

The podcast is here:   http://thebookcave.libsyn.com/webpage/ric-s-comics-episode-73-blackthorn


Meet Van Allen Plexico’s SENTINELS!

Image

A ragtag band of mutants, aliens, androids, gods, and mere mortals all banded together against the most dreaded menaces of all–these are the SENTINELS!

In the days to come, their creator, Van Allen Plexico, will introduce us to the team (and their deadliest foes) one by one, here at Pulp Cosmic.

In the meantime, you can discover how the team first came together–and somehow avoided killing each other!–by picking up the first volume of the six-books-and-counting saga, WHEN STRIKES THE WARLORD!

Get it for Kindle and Kindle apps for only $2.99 here!

Get it for Nook and other e-reader here!

Get it in trade paperback here!

Learn more about the Sentinels at their site: http://www.whiterocketbooks.com/sentinels

(Sentinels paperbacks are published by Swarm Press.  Sentinels e-books are published by White Rocket Books.)


RevolutionSF Podcast: Talking Small Press & Indy Publishing

This week’s RevCast (RevolutionSF Podcast) features a discussion about small press & indy publishing, with host Deanna Toxopeus and co-hosts/guests Van Allen Plexico (White Rocket Books) and James Palmer (Giant Robot Books).  Enjoy!

LISTEN HERE:  http://revolutionsf.libsyn.com/webpage/roundtable-161-indie-publishin


LUCIAN: DARK GOD’S HOMECOMING by Van Allen Plexico–now on Kindle!

Image

The critically-acclaimed LUCIAN: DARK GOD’S HOMECOMING by Van Allen Plexico is now available on Kindle for only $2.99!

The Power has returned. And now I, the exiled dark lord Lucian, race across the infinite planes of creation, a charge of mass murder upon my head, vicious foes dogging my every step.

My goals are simple: Justice for myself, vengeance upon my enemies, and conquest of the known universe if I get half a chance.

But events are conspiring to bring me together with some very unexpected allies, and to thrust me into the most unlikely role of all… Hero?!

LUCIAN: DARK GOD’S HOMECOMING combines exciting SF/Fantasy adventure with a puzzling murder mystery whodunit in the grand tradition of Roger Zelazny’s AMBER series and Jack Vance’s DYING EARTH.

“Great stuff. LUCIAN is an amazing book.” –James Palmer, Voices for the Cure

“Fans of Jack Vance and Roger Zelazny will eat this up. Good stuff start to finish.” –Pulp Fiction Reviews

Seven 5-star ratings ***** on Amazon.com–and growing!

GRAB IT FOR KINDLE HERE:  http://www.amazon.com/Lucian-Dark-Gods-Homecoming-ebook/dp/B005DSAZAE

Also in trade paperback here:  http://www.amazon.com/Lucian-Homecoming-Van-Allen-Plexico/dp/0615606423

 


The Nocturne Travel Agency talks Superheroic Novels with Van Allen Plexico

Thomas Deja of the Nocturne Travel Agency (and creator of the Shadow Legion) interviews Van Allen Plexico (creator of the Sentinels and Hawk, among other superhero/cosmic characters and series), discussing superheroes in prose fiction, the role of e-books in superhero pulp publishing, how to write good action scenes, and much more:

http://welcometonocturne.blogspot.com/2012/06/elsewhere-in-multiverse-part-one-meet.html

Image