A fine WordPress.com site

Uncategorized

Link

White Rocket Ep 20: Superheroes in Novels & Beyond, Pt 3: Just Cause!

White Rocket Ep 20: Superheroes in Novels & Beyond, Pt 3: Just Cause!

Superhero author Ian Thomas Healy joins Van for this week’s White Rocket Podcast, exploring superheroes in novels and beyond.  Ian discusses his “Just Cause” series and other works, as well as his seminars on writing better action scenes.  And there’s “Superfriends” music!

Find the show on iTunes or visit the White Rocket site at http://www.whiterocketbooks.com.

All the previous shows and descriptions are available at http://whiterocket.podbean.com

Visit Van’s site: http://www.plexico.net

Advertisements

THE TOMB OF INCANTRUS VEIL: Blackthorn: Spires of Mars, Chapter Four, by I. A. Watson, now online!

THE TOMB OF INCANTRUS VEIL, Chapter Four of the ongoing online serial novel, Blackthorn: The Spires of Mars by I.A. Watson, is now available at http://www.whiterocketbooks/blackthorn .

Twelve puissant wizards were slaughtered for their component parts. One fell creature was built from their sundered spirits – and it waits for John Blackthorn!

Updates every Monday and Thursday! Next update 23rd July.


New Message Board for Pulps Old & New

There’s a new message board for Classic Pulps and New Pulp.  It’s just started up:

http://pulpforums.proboards.com/index.cgi


RevolutionSF Podcast: Talking Small Press & Indy Publishing

This week’s RevCast (RevolutionSF Podcast) features a discussion about small press & indy publishing, with host Deanna Toxopeus and co-hosts/guests Van Allen Plexico (White Rocket Books) and James Palmer (Giant Robot Books).  Enjoy!

LISTEN HERE:  http://revolutionsf.libsyn.com/webpage/roundtable-161-indie-publishin


LUCIAN: DARK GOD’S HOMECOMING by Van Allen Plexico–now on Kindle!

Image

The critically-acclaimed LUCIAN: DARK GOD’S HOMECOMING by Van Allen Plexico is now available on Kindle for only $2.99!

The Power has returned. And now I, the exiled dark lord Lucian, race across the infinite planes of creation, a charge of mass murder upon my head, vicious foes dogging my every step.

My goals are simple: Justice for myself, vengeance upon my enemies, and conquest of the known universe if I get half a chance.

But events are conspiring to bring me together with some very unexpected allies, and to thrust me into the most unlikely role of all… Hero?!

LUCIAN: DARK GOD’S HOMECOMING combines exciting SF/Fantasy adventure with a puzzling murder mystery whodunit in the grand tradition of Roger Zelazny’s AMBER series and Jack Vance’s DYING EARTH.

“Great stuff. LUCIAN is an amazing book.” –James Palmer, Voices for the Cure

“Fans of Jack Vance and Roger Zelazny will eat this up. Good stuff start to finish.” –Pulp Fiction Reviews

Seven 5-star ratings ***** on Amazon.com–and growing!

GRAB IT FOR KINDLE HERE:  http://www.amazon.com/Lucian-Dark-Gods-Homecoming-ebook/dp/B005DSAZAE

Also in trade paperback here:  http://www.amazon.com/Lucian-Homecoming-Van-Allen-Plexico/dp/0615606423

 


GIANT ROBOT BOOKS: The New Publisher in Town!

There’s a new publisher who has taken up the mantel of New Pulp.
 
 Writer and editor James Palmer has formed a new publishing imprint designed to take advantage of the surge in popularity of New Pulp fiction, as well as the huge explosion of Print on Demand publishing and ebooks.
 
 “This is an amazing time to be a writer or editor,” says Palmer.  “I really wanted to hit the ground running with something that can use these new technologies in new and unique ways.”
 
 Giant Robot Books will not only publish New Pulp, but weird western, steampunk, and sci-fi, and has several anthologies planned.
 
 “I will be rolling out some theme anthologies as well as individual novels and short stories,” says Palmer.  “Stick around. It’s going to be a wild ride.”
 
Giant Robot Books is a new publishing imprint specializing in science fiction, New Pulp, steampunk, and more. To learn more or sign up for the free monthly newsletter, visit http://www.giantrobotbooks.com/. You can also follow GRB on Facebook at www.facebook.com/GiantRobotBooks and Twitter @giantrobotbooksImage

BLACKTHORN: THUNDER ON MARS– Best New Pulp Character of the Year!

Image

BLACKTHORN: THUNDER ON MARS won “Best New Pulp Character” at Pulp Ark 2012!

Betrayed and left for dead on the battlefield, US Army General John Blackthorn awakens many thousands of years later to find himself trapped amidst the ruins of a post-apocalyptic Mars, his only companions a savage Mock-Man and a mysterious sorceress. Their war to free this strange new world from oppression won’t be easy: Arrayed against them are the four tyrannical First Men–masters of magic and technology alike–the dreaded Sorcerers of Mars!

BLACKTHORN: THUNDER ON MARS is a post-apocalyptic adventure saga in the spirit of “Thundarr the Barbarian” and “John Carter of Mars,” featuring original stories by New Pulp luminaries Mark Bousquet, Joe Crowe, Bobby Nash, James Palmer, Van Allen Plexico, Sean Taylor, and I. A. Watson, and illustrated by Chris Kohler. Cover by James Burns.

“Original, entertaining, action-packed!” —Wayne Reinagel, author of the Pulp Heroes and Modern Marvels novels.

Get it in paperback here:  http://www.amazon.com/Blackthorn-Thunder-Van-Allen-Plexico/dp/0984139265

Or on Kindle for just $2.99:  http://www.amazon.com/Blackthorn-Thunder-on-Mars-ebook/dp/B006FBRHG8